What Happens When We Don’t Agree

what happens when you don't agree

I’ve been learning a lot about unity in the last year.  I’ve always known it’s right.  And I’ve witnessed first hand how God blesses unity.  But why does God need unity?  If we’re all created different, unique, individual why do we all have to agree, work together and have one purpose?  Isn’t that contradictory to how God made us?

That is completely selfish thinking.  It’s all about me!  Why don’t I get to do what I want to do.  Why do I have to do something I don’t agree with or serve someone I don’t believe in?  Why must I submit to my husband if I know he’s wrong or don’t like his approach??  So, so selfish.  But isn’t this how we think.  Don’t we all struggle with issues in our life because we don’t agree with it.

Let me show you how God sees unity.

In Numbers Moses is once again trying to get the Isrealites to go into the Promised Land and once again the Isrealites are discouraging people from listening to the word of God because they don’t want to go to war.  They’re happy with the land they have, why fight for more?  This is how God responded to that division.

Because they have not followed me wholeheartedly, not one of the men twenty years old or more who came up out of Egypt will see the land I promised on oath to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Numbers 32:11-12

Wow an entire generation was passed over to receive God’s promise because they didn’t wholeheartedly submit to God’s will.  This really challenged me.  I’ve always been taught about submission and respect, but surrendering wholeheartedly to someone I didn’t agree with, that’s another story.

Am I stopping myself and others from receiving God’s promises because I’m not standing united with my husband, leaders and church?  Am I discouraging others from doing God’s will because it doesn’t sound like a good idea to me?  Am I causing division rather than unity.

The Isrealites were in division over taking the promised land not just once but twice and they were very close to having to live another 40 years in the dessert.

If you turn away from following him [God], he will again leave all these people in the desert, and you will be the cause of their destruction.  Numbers 32:15

We are all responsible.  If we want to receive all that God has promised we must be united.  We must submit to God’s will wholeheartedly.

Wholeheartedly, what a great word.  With every bit of our heart we serve, surrender, submit.  We don’t hold back, withdraw, reserve or discourage. We do it anyways to see God’s blessing for all, not just for us. The Isrealites had been in the desert for so long they didn’t even want the promised land.  They wanted to stay in the desert.  How sad is that.  We can get so used to where we are we say no to God’s blessing because it’s too much work to move forward.

I’ll have to move house, sell my car, travel farther to church, wake up earlier, take a pay cut, cancel my holiday, give more money, give more time.  All reasons we may not want to  take the promised land God has waiting for us.  God wants us together, united.  It’s an act of love and worship to God to stand united even if we don’t agree.  And it’s in unity that God can bless us.

Do you have a hard time submitting to your husband or leaders/boss because you don’t agree with them or think they’re idea isn’t as good as yours? Pray that God will help you to submit and surrender your opinions and ideas so that your whole family/
church can be blessed.  I’m praying this too, we’re in this together!

 

11 thoughts on “What Happens When We Don’t Agree

  1. I so appreciate this post. My husband and I agree on most things, but there are a few areas where we tend to see things differently. I think that’s when it’s especially important to let him lead. Sure, it’s easy to submit and let him lead when I agree with him or don’t have much of an opinion on the issue, but it’s a whole different story when I do have a opinion that is different from his! It is hard to do sometimes! God sees when are completely turning the situation over to Him and choosing to yield, and I think He blesses us for that in one way or another.

    • Yielding to our husbands in unity is always honoured and blessed by God despite if we’re going in the wrong direction. That’s what’s so powerful about unity!! Thanks for sharing. X

  2. Yes – isn’t it interesting that unity begins with the individual?! (oh my goodness it sounds so obvious but I don’t know why I don’t see it all the time!) You said it so eloquently! Thank you unpacking this aspect of unity – denying self – it’s something I never really thought about! But when there is disunity there is usually selfishness.

    So excited to have found your blog 🙂

  3. (ok, I apologize if this comment is repeated – I tried submitting one and well, I forgot my wp password, and well, here I am again)

    So! I loved this post! It’s funny how unity starts with the individual. It seems so obvious! But I think when you look at a couple, or a church, you see everyone “together” but you’re right – unity always starts with the person. Such a great post. Such wisdom!

    Happy to have found your blog!

  4. What a powerful line: We are all responsible. If we want to receive all that God has promised we must be united. We must submit to God’s will wholeheartedly.
    Such a great, reflective post! Visiting from Missional Women: Faith-Filled Friday

  5. It was a big “Aha” when you stated we must submit to God wholeheartedly because of how this connects with our own lives. When you brought up that we could be causing division because of our selfishness or because we don’t agree with someone else, I had to really step back to do a little examining of myself. Great post today!

    • This was a huge revelation for me as well, Mary. When i was reading through Numbers God really revealed something so fresh to me. I’ve been struggling with unity and submission in a few areas and God really pinpointed the flaw in my thinking and attitude. So grateful for his Holy Spirit at work in us willing us to do His good and perfect will. There is always hope! Jenny xx

  6. Love this concept that, “It’s an act of love and worship to God to stand united even if we don’t agree.” Thanks for sharing with us at the Make A Difference Mondays linkup!

Leave a Reply

