God, are you there?

God are you there?

I’ve been working hard.  I mean, really hard these past few weeks.  And sometimes when the clock ticks past midnight, again, and my head finally hits the pillow I wonder whether it’s all really worth it.  Is my business really going to grow, is my writing really benefiting anyone?  God is this really what you have for me?

Oh yes, I have doubts, like I know you do.  Is this all that God has for me, am I in the right place,  am I going in the right direction, is God even in this?  It can plague me after every failure, disappointment and epic work/family day (because it’s never just one or the other!).

I pray about my life, my family, my marriage, my kids and my future.  I pray over it because I want it to have meaning, purpose and success.  And I know to get anywhere I need to follow God’s lead.  But it’s hard, long days with blood sweat and tears thrown in from time to time.

As I was going to bed Tuesday night those doubts starting stirring in my head again.  I’m just so tired God, please tell me this is your will. As soon as my head hit the pillow I felt this burst of faith inside my heart and I heard God speak his love and will over me.

I’m proud of you, I love you, keep going, I’m with you. 

Wow, it doesn’t get much better than that.  And instead of going to bed deflated and defeated I went to be with the biggest smile on my face and woke up bursting to tell my husband the word from God.  And it gave us faith, focus and hope for the day of work ahead.

I know that my God is with me.  His hope is an anchor for my soul and I feel that now more than ever in my life.  He is my centre, my focus and my goal.  I have Christ in me, the hope of glory.  For a long time I couldn’t understand why His glory would be MY hope?  Because, like my wise father shared with me today, without faith we have nothing.

And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him. Hebrews 11:6

When in doubt, chose faith.  When you’re buried in the work load, lost in your indecision or failing to find a pursuit – chose faith.  Be anchored by God and seek him with everything you’ve got.  He’s right there with you and he’ll show you the way.

11 thoughts on “God, are you there?

  1. To me, God is a Para RSM.

    If I fall, He’s the one shouting at me, “GET. UP. NOW!!!!”, while others counsel that I lie there and give in to the illness that’s trying to kill me.

    He’s the one who says, “When pain pushes you, push back harder” when others offer opiates.

    He’s the one who says, “Yeah, mate, you’ll die, and so what? So did My Son. Stick it, and get onto the objective, and no bl****y excuses!”

    In the morning, when the only thing I can think of is “today is going to hurt” I sometimes wish He’d go away.

    But in the evening, another day survived with some semblance of honour, I’ll raise a pint to him.

    Or, I had better say…with Him.

    • Hi Andrew,

      God is our best cheerleader and always knows how to get us to where we need to go. So encouraged to hear that you hold onto Christ throughout each day. May you be blessed and filled with faith this week as you anchor to Christ. Be blessed.

  2. He is there for us–trust in Him with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding! Love this post. Thanks for sharing with What You Wish Wednesday. Come back tomorrow!

  3. Stopping in from the link-up this morning… Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement! I love your thoughts on this, I will have to take a look around your blog some more.

  4. Thank you! These words will touch many women’s hearts as it did mine. Thank you for the reminder to trust Jesus and remember it’s all for him. I just wrote on our kitchen chalkboard John15:4 yesterday -“Abide In me and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me.” Such an encouragement to remain close to Jesus and that all these pursuits are through him and for him.

    I just found your blog last night (I’m actually dreaming and praying and making – slowly – a discipleship blog for women and I’ve been searching for like hearted women that share truth and Jesus), and so I’m reading through your posts and haven’t discovered your business yet – is the blog your business or are you pursing additional things? Would love to hear how it’s going for you!

    • Hi Lauren,

      So glad you found me here! Love the scripture you have in your kitchen. One of my favourites. I’m so excited to hear you want to start blogging. How great! If you ever want to chat about it you can email me. I have a natural and organic cosmetic business called Super Natural Beauty that I’ve just started this year. There’s a Facebook page but no website yet. Sounds like you have a great heart for women. I can hear your passion through your writing, so great. Thanks for sharing and giving encouragement. It means so much!!! x

Leave a Reply

