Can my dreams come true?

can my dreams come true?

Do you dream about your future?  Do you think about where you’ll be in a year, 5 years, 10 years, even 50 years? I do it all the time.  I was certainly a daydreamer growing up and would get lost in it, but now my dreams are much more focused.

I was reading to the kids before putting them to bed and we were reading about Joseph.  It suddenly dawned on me that God inspires our dreams.  Not just our sleeping dreams, but our visionary dreams of our future.  You know those moments where you see yourself years ahead in the future doing something so different from what you’re doing now.

Our dreams can have a divine purpose and be a prophetic image for what’s ahead and that our dreams can come true .  We may see things in our future that seem so out of place, beyond our capabilities and even a little bit strange.  Is my dream too big?  Would God really give me all that?  God gave us imagination and he uses it to envision his plan for our lives.  When He gives s a vision for our future He works His will and His way in our lives to get us to where he needs us.

As my birthday went past I thought about all the things I’ve done in 28 years.  The plans I made when I was 18 and where God has brought me.   God went above and beyond all that I asked and imagined.  He has blessed me beyond my comprehension and given me new passions and vision for my life.  He has stretched my faith and gifts beyond what I ever thought capable.  But I know that it’s all because of Him.

Joseph dreamed dreams.  They were strange, grand and impossible.  But God used them to bring hope to Joseph when he was in slavery, wrongfully accused, and forgotten in prison.  He dreamed a dream of greatness that only God could fulfill in his life.  And God worked all things for His good (Romans 8:28).  The dream was not just about Joseph becoming mighty and powerful above his family.  It was about saving the entire nation of Israel from starvation.

Don’t be afraid to dream.  Let God stretch your imagination beyond where you are now to see where He is leading you.  It may seem impossible, too big and far away to ever reach, but He is always at work in our lives to get us to where He needs us.

We can so easily cling to our insecurities, our failures and our shortcomings to allow ourselves to see beyond where we are to where He is taking us.  Trust in God to take you there.  Don’t be afraid to follow where he leads and believe in His capabilities.

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

15 thoughts on “Can my dreams come true?

  1. This is such a great reminder, Jenny! I struggle a lot with thinking I’m being “too unrealistic” with my dreams. It’s easy to forget that God put those dreams inside of me, and to trust him.
    Johanna

    • I’ll get a glimpse of something and instantly think, oh God wouldn’t give me that. It’s too much!! But he has so much more than we can even imagine!! Learning to trust more and more in his plan and faithfulness to grow me to where I need to go. Xxxz

  2. What a great post, Jenny! This definitely came just at the right time as I have been noticing these dreams form in my heart — ones that seem maybe too big or impossible or unrealistic. So thank you for reminding me that God can be at work even in these dreams.

    • So great to hear you were inspired to dream BIG! We may think big but god things Bigger. Nothing is beyond him. Always press into the more that he has for you Tania!! Blessings. Xx

  3. Pingback: Dreams for Your Life | Stuck In Your Rut

  4. I really relate to the part of looking at my insecurities and not being able to see myself doing some of these things but like you said we learn that God is the one doing it. I am excited about where He is taking you and His dreams for you and I am excited about what He is doing in me too. I think it gets bigger than we can ever imagine. Thanks for encouraging me today and stirring up some fire inside :).

Leave a Reply

