Finding True Rest

Finding True Rest

I find it soooo ironic that I’m writing about this today.  The last in the series on Rest.  I’ve spent the whole week completely exhausted and working all sorts of crazy hours, so it is definitely something I’m writing for myself.  I love the busyness of our life and the fullness of having a family, but we still need to rest and there are days, weeks, and seasons when we just can’t fit in enough physical rest.

But today I want to talk about a different kind of rest.  One that supersedes all the naps, spa days and afternoon tea’s in the world.  It’s the only type of rest that gives rest to your soul and not just your body and mind.

Do you ever feel that restlessness in your spirit?  The kind that makes it hard to fall asleep at night, stay motivated through the day and offer yourself in love to those closest to you?

I’ve been there and I dip in and out of it every now and again.  But I’ve made a discover.  I’ve found that it’s the times I spend away from reading the Bible, praying and seeking God’s will that my soul gets restless and weary.  I feel an emptiness, a numbness to the world around me and become isolated in my own thoughts and emotions.

I’ll start to crave the vibrancy of life that only Christ gives.  I begin to long for the intimacy of exchanging secrets with God.  And then I’ll feel more and more guilty for the time I’ve spent away from Him and become aware of how unmotivated I am to pick up my Bible.  It happens every time.

It’s a consistent pattern that the longer I spend away from the Word of God the harder I find picking it up and reading it.  But it’s the one place that brings true rest, peace and wholeness into my life.  It holds secrets, mysteries, wisdom and practical knowledge for everyday life.  And it’s not just in the Words of the Bible, it’s in the Spirit.  It’s the Holy Spirit the reveals it’s mystery to my spirit, that makes the words come alive, click in my head and make the connection to my current situation.

If you’re feeling weary and maybe guilty that you haven’t picked up your Bible in ages – now’s a great time to just go for it.  Don’t let the guilt stop you from doing what’s right.  That’s how the enemy schemes against us.  He loves using our own emotions against us.  Don’t give into it.  Always seek him, especially when you are weary and find true rest for your soul.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28-29

10 thoughts on “Finding True Rest

  1. Jenny you often provide just the inspiration that I am looking for when struggling to come to grips with a problem. its funny how things turn out

    • Glad to know I’m not in the journey alone Judi! So grateful to hear you were blessed and encouraged. That’s what I pray for every day. Lean into God and gain strength from Him. Blessings. Xx

  2. I know this, I need reminding of it always – because although I know I don’t do. Like you I have times of knowing that rest in my Spirit and when I don’t I know it’s about the time I spend with God. I cry out with Paul that I do not do what I ought – but I pick myself up, pick up God’s word and start again. Thankful that we have a new day every day and for this timely reminder 🙂

  3. God is always pursuing us…and especially when we are not pursuing him! I think the guilt that we feel is a product of our own emotions and has nothing to do with how God views us. I, too, find that I begin to feel an anxiety within my heart when I have spent some time away from God. The way back is always a wonderful homecoming!

    • Hi Misty, thank you so much! What an honour. I’ve just followed your blog on bloglovin’. Looks like we’ve got a lot in common. Thanks for your encouragement, couldn’t have come at a better time! Always love connecting with other mothers of faith, so inspiring! Blessings xx

  4. Pingback: Mother-Son Relationship: Open Communication + Family Fun Friday Link Up - Beautiful Ashes

Leave a Reply

