Preparing your child’s heart for school

Preparing your child's heart for school

My own school experience was not so amiable and certainly not my fondest memories from childhood. In Primary school I was the annoying American girl and in High School in the States I was the strange British Girl.  There was no winning.  But what made me get through school without hating it or the people in it was my foundation in who I was.  I knew I was loved by my family and, most importantly, accepted by God.

This is what I’ve been preparing in my children’s hearts.  They are loved and accepted and nothing they say or do will change that and they should never let anything other people say change that either.  

If you’ve been following me on Instagram you’ll have seen my oldest, Eliana, getting busy in the kitchen.  We watched Ratatoullie one day and she was suddenly inspired.  She made home made soup from scratch with no recipe, eggs for breakfast all by herself and even a lovely mixed salad.  But one day she went into the kitchen and started preparing some vegetables without telling me.  When I did walk into the kitchen she was reaching for a plaster with a bleeding finger.  As soon as she saw me she burst into tears and said “please don’t be mad at me, I didn’t want to tell you because I was afraid you would be mad at me.  I wanted to surprise you.”  Completely heart crushing moment.

She was afraid that her mistake would change my opinion of her.  But that was completely opposite of how I felt and how God treats us.  We are loved by God and accepted by him no matter what our mistakes.  And when we repent and receive His forgiveness it is completely forgotten.  I want to teach my kids this.  I want them to know that they are allowed to make mistakes because it’s through mistakes that we can grow and I will love them all the same.  I want them to not be afraid (ashamed or embarrassed) to come to me to share their mistakes, because it’s through repentance that we can be forgiven and changed by God’s grace.  

So as you send your children off for school reassure them of your unconditional love. That yes, they will make mistakes, but you’ll be right there for them at the end of the day.  And no matter what other’s say or do it doesn’t change who they are.

I always send my girls into class with this, “You are daughter’s of the King, you are kind, smart, beautiful and special.  Share God’s love today.”

Don’t forget to prepare your child’s heart for school and  share God’s love and yours with them.  It’s what they’ll remember in those tough moments of rejection, hurt, mistakes and failures.

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.  Proverbs 22:6

7 thoughts on “Preparing your child’s heart for school

  1. I needed this reminder this morning! I love Proverbs and how they infuse God’s wisdom into my daily life! You’re right–it is so important for us all to know who we are in God and let that be our foundation. My daughter recently started school so I’ll be pinning this when I need a reminder again!

    • So grateful to hear this blessed you Carrie. Such an emotional roller coaster sending out kids to school. Bit I believe that life long lessons are learned at school to help them make God decisions in their future. Xx

  2. I LOVE this idea! My daughter, 4, has Autism and is in the public school Special Needs Preschool. She goes everyday, but some days getting her to school is a cross between tears and frustration, sometimes for both of us! We pray on the way there and claim that God will allow her little light shine for him. No matter what the future holds for her, I want her to know she is a child of God and love him in her own way! Thanks for sharing at the Saturday Soiree Blog Party!

Leave a Reply

