5 Steps To Ultimate Rest

5 Steps To Ultimate Rest

I was amazed at the response I got from ‘How To rest and Not Feel Guilty’. I thought I would go into it with a bit more detail on how we can actually make sure we get time to rest often enough so that we don’t reach breaking point and then feel completely guilty.

Most of us will chill out at some point in our week.  And yes, we all have weeks where every second is filled with a to-do list longer than the great wall of China, but those are the weeks where it becomes paramount to find time to recover.

So here’s some ideas on how to get ultimate rest each week.

1. Schedule It In

Learning to schedule in rest is the only sure way to actually make it happen each week. Spend 10 minutes before bed on Sunday night going through the week and scheduling in your time for rest.  I try to keep to the same time each week, but not everyone’s schedule may allow for that.  The most important thing is that you schedule it in every week.

2. Do Something You Enjoy

Like I said before, we all have different capacities and some of us reach our limits a lot quicker than others.  One person’s rest may be another person’s worst nightmare.  Make sure you do something that makes you feel relaxed.  Not all of us need to take a nap to recharge, but don’t spend that precious ‘down time’ scrubbing your kitchen floor.  It may be just having a couple hours of alone time one morning a week, a night out with friends to get in some proper adult girl time, or having a designated lie-in morning where you don’t have to make breakfast for the kids.

3. Learn Something New

So often in motherhood we can lose our joy and passion because we’ve stopped learning or trying new things.  Life can become quite repetitive with babies and it can squeeze all our creativity out of us.  Take up a new hobby like knitting or crochet, join a book club, try a new sport or learn a new skill like photography. Stretching our minds and getting creative is incredibly therapeutic and excellent exercise for our brains.  Keep that grey matter moving!

4. Get More Sleep

You probably saw this one coming, but we need sleep to improve our mood and generate necessary hormones, to heal and strengthen our bodies and improve brain function.  These all seem like pretty important things in our lives, but most of the time we simply don’t get enough sleep to keep our bodies functioning properly.  With 4-5 hours of broken sleep most nights no wonder we’re irritable, have headaches and find it hard to cope with crying, teething toddlers!  Set your alarm for 30 minutes before you want to go to bed to get into the habit of going to bed at the same time each night and make sure you get at least 7 hours of sleep.

5. Have Fun With Your Family

This may seem out of place, but when we get stressed we can sometimes back ourselves into a corner.  We can easily withdraw emotionally when life gets full-on and go into survival mode.  This kills the love in our lives.   Don’t forget to enjoy your family.  When you feel like escaping from your family – don’t.  Make a plan to do something relaxing together like going for a walk through the woods and coming home to hot chocolate and a bath, go on a date with your husband and spend lots of time kissing.  This may just sound like a lot of work, but believe me, it’s therapy heaven!  You’ll remember why you love the people in your life and you’ll get the best out of them.

I hope this gives you some ideas on how to create time in your life to rest.  Share your ideas, what’s your favourite way to rest and recharge?? 

 

22 thoughts on “5 Steps To Ultimate Rest

    • Hi Amy, I totally agree with you about getting outdoors. I love running along country roads to just get away from everything and everyone. I get so refreshed and energised and just spend time praying things through that are burdening me. Thanks so much for sharing! x

  1. Thank you for this! This is something important that we often overlook. The “do something you enjoy” part is important – so often when we “rest” we don’t end up refreshed because we do not choose something or somewhere that truly refreshes us. Here’s to resting well! 😉

    • I keep hearing mum’s tell me that when they do get time to themselves they just end up cleaning the house. Even though a clean house can bring peace to your mind, it doesn’t give your body the rest it needs. Doing something fun might be what’s needed rather than always doing what’s necessary. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great post!! Very helpful to be reminded of these things. I love to go on a run to relax – it’s a good mental break from the rest of the day. I love the idea of setting an alarm 30 minutes before I want to go to bed. That time creeps up on me quickly! xo

    • Thanks Ali, I’ve turned it into a little series as it’s been a big talking point. We all need rest, but sometimes have to get creative with how to get the right kind of rest when we need it. I struggle getting to bed on time too. I get caught up with pinterest and reading blogs most of the time! But my alarm tells me to closet the laptop and start winding down for bed. Otherwise I spend at least an hour in bed before I can fall asleep!

  3. I love the idea of creating time ahead of the week to rest and recharge. It is a necessity and you have offered some great suggestions. It is important, as you mentioned, to do something that you like, which lifts you up. As momma it is hard to justify it at times, but when we do, we find we are a better momma.
    I also think that to serve we should do it from a place of resting in Him. Praying about your week ahead on Sunday as you are pondering your resting times is another great way to assure the time to find His grace just when we need it.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    • Thanks for your encouraging words Dawn. So glad you got some inspiration on ways to rest. I love how resting in Christ is what will give us strength. He is our core and source. Blessings xx

    • Sounds like you definitely need to spend some time thinking of how to fit in rest into your week! Think of how much more you’ll accomplished feeling refreshed and not stressed. Blessings x

  4. I love the part about doing something you enjoy. I so agree with that! It makes such a difference when you allow yourself the simple pleasures, and not just keep withholding them in order to get other stuff done. Thanks for this! Very much like the series I’m doing over the next couple of weeks!

    • Thanks so much Michelle. I’ll have to take a look at your series and compare notes! I’m looking forward to a good lie in this weekend. Been working all around the clock this week!

    • We all do that! We just need a little reminder sometimes, but I do feel that there are literally not enough hours in the day now and sleep is optional. But my body completely disagrees with me. Blessings x

  5. I am so guilty of not truly resting and running on empty until I have have nothing left to give. It is so true that when I am empty, it zaps the joy and energy out of my home. I WILL be scheduling some rest this week. It was a pleasure to find you through What You Wish Wednesday and I am a new follower. I would love for your sweet spirit to join our community at the Saturday Soiree Blog Party on http://faithalongtheway.com.

    • Hi Sarah Ann,

      So blessed to hear you were encouraged and are taking the time to find more rest in your week. I have heard about the Saturday Soiree and would love to join. I’ll do my best as I’m not always on my laptop on the weekends. Praying you find rest in our saviour and gain from His strength for your week. Blessings xxx

  6. This is so good! I have been really stressed lately and my husband has helped me to realized that I just go and go and never stop. I have been working on not doing anything after the kids go to bed other than hanging out with the husband or blog stuff IF I want to. I have also been making myself go to bed a a decent time each night. It really makes all the difference in the world. Thanks so much for these wonderful, yet practical steps.

    • Hi Nikki, Thanks for your encouragement! Going to bed on time is definitely something I’m still working on. I have always been a morning person but have reached that season in life where there is more work than hours in the day and end up burning the candle at both ends. this of course only makes each day harder and me less productive. Making this my goal heading into Autumn! Hopefully darker evenings will help by brain switch off sooner. Thanks for sharing. x

Leave a Reply

