What To Do When You Don’t Know What To Do

What to do when you don't know what to do

Every day we are faced with issues, situations, thoughts and attitudes that challenge us.  They challenge our attitude, behaviour, thinking and sometimes even our faith.  We can then get lost in our pattern of thought that we think will lead us to an answer, when it really just leads to more doubt and fear.

I love what my friend, Will Marais, says “when you don’t know what to think, think about what you know.”  He shared this after telling of his shock after the death of his only son.  This grabbed hold of my heart.  What do I do when my faith gets shaken, when my beliefs get challenged and my way of life comes crumbling down?

I go back to what I know.  And what do I know? That I believe in God the Father, Christ the Son and the Holy Spirit – my God is three in one.  I believe in the resurrection, that Jesus will come again and that Jesus is Lord.

This is what I believe.  No matter what happens, not matter how little I understand of anything else, I will always know this of my God:  that he loves me with an everlasting love.

When I read about David in the Bible I see more and more of how conflicted he was.  He was always trying to make sense of things happening in his world.  He just couldn’t understand so much of what went on in life.  But he would always, always, always return to God and take comfort in his unfailing love for him.

When my worry is great within me, Your comfort brings joy to my soul.  Psalm 94:19

If you’re worried today, troubled or afraid – find your comfort in the eternal love of God that is steadfast, secure and immovable.  Stand on Christ as your cornerstone.  He will not change.  Take comfort today in our Sovereign God. Nothing and no one is greater than Him.

Do you need reminding of who God is in your life?  Listen to this, I promise it will strengthen your faith and bring peace to your heart. ‘

2 thoughts on “What To Do When You Don’t Know What To Do

  1. What a powerful and compelling posting, Mrs. Cupido! Thank you for brightening my day.

    I find that when I am intentional and attentive, God is practically begging me to notice His presence and support in my life. I see the small, everyday miracles, the “coincidences” that work to my benefit, yet stretch the bounds of credulity when viewed from a strictly mathematical perspective.

    It does take discipline to maintain this perspective – sometimes a nearlt monastic approach is required, in winnowing the inessential from my life. (By this I mean secular readings and music, and commercial television – certainly not my wife and family!)

  2. The Scripture that I turn to is the shortest in the Bible – “Jesus wept”.

    I have had experiences that might one doubt God’s intentions, and certainly His mercy. It’s hard to see clearly when you come across children slaughtered to prove a political point, and harder still when you confront the pure evil that created that tableaux.

    But Jesus came down to touch us, and His human heart – His divine heart – could be broken. He could weep at the death of Lazarus, His friend.

    I could never believe in a God so far removed from our humanit that He could not share our pain, and I can never trun away from a God who can.

Leave a Reply

