6 Secrets To Get Fit After Baby

6 Secrets To Get Fit After Baby

There is no doubt – having children causes some drastic changes to our bodies.  It can be empowering whilst pregnant but then quite disappointing once baby is born.  And with every baby comes more changes.  But if we don’t make the effort to take care of our bodies then we can end up with some pretty nasty permanent changes (think of never being able to laugh or sneeze again without an unpleasant surprise!)

No matter how many changes your body goes through with pregnancy and birth it is never too late to help get it in shape again.  It’s easy to slip into bad habits in those early years with babies.  We can easily eat through a packet of biscuits or find our hand in a bag of Kettle Chips every evening to stop the late night cravings.  I’m speaking from experience here.

Here’s how I got focused on getting fit after each pregnancy and a few lessons learned.

1. Focus on your core

Our core is seriously compromised after birth and is like the control tower of our whole body.  If it’s not functioning properly you can cause injury.  This happened to me after doing Jillian Michaels 30 day shred after baby number 3.  Yes I lost a ton of weight and felt strong, but my stomach still looked pregnant and jelly like and I couldn’t figure out why.  I had been causing more harm than good to my abs (look up diastase recti).  This is where you need to start and you need to start super easy.  Never do crunches or lifting of the legs whilst lying flat post pregnancy. Put 90% of your focus on getting your core back in order.  This will help your whole body recover.

2. Start easy

Make sure you’re cleared by your GP (doctor) and go for something that interests you but start at a beginners level.  Your body will still be vulnerable and needs to be treated with care. Starting with “Insanity” workouts or marathon training is not the way to go.  You’ll only demotivate yourself with all the hard work and your body will not handle it well and injuries will occur.

3. Make a plan and stick to it

It doesn’t matter what form of exercise you chose, the most important thing is to keep doing it!  Make a plan and write it down to help you stay focused and just stick to it.  If you miss a workout for whatever reason, don’t miss the next.  Just keep going!

4. Make every calorie count

Don’t waste calories on crisps and biscuits – the biggest mummy tummy culprits.  These are the most satisfying foods whilst breastfeeding (and every other time of your life), but are doing absolutely no good for you or your baby.  Snack on Ryvita and peanut butter,  cheesy oatcakes, boiled eggs and lots and lots of fruit and veg.  Keep bananas next to your bed for those midnight feeds rather than hobnobs and you’ll start to feel energy return.

5. Rest and sleep

When you’re starting out you need to make sure you have rest days in between work outs and plenty of sleep to recover.  Try to get to bed 30 minuets earlier than usual to make sure you give your body the rest it needs to recover.  Starting with three days of exercise a week with 5 minutes of postnatal core work every day is a good place to start.  I never did more than 20 minutes exercise with babies under a year old, but I hardly ever missed a workout and made every minute count.

6.  Don’t lose weight, lose fat

I have never owned a scale in my adult life and I still don’t see the need.  We can get obsessed with that number on the scale that we just have to get to and only then will we be happy.  But muscle weighs more than fat and so you can be getting fitter and not see that needle on the scale move. Aim for healthy not skinny.  The first thing I notice with exercise is my shape will change before my weight drops.

Let’s start our week off well and get moving together!  What will your workout be?

13 thoughts on “6 Secrets To Get Fit After Baby

  1. Excellent tips! I am good with the exercise aspect of your plan, but definitely need to get better at keeping my hand out of the bag of Kettle chips in the evenings!

  2. This is exactly where I am right now! Thanks for the encouragement! Just had my baby 8 months ago and have been exercising regularly without seeing the weight come off the way I’d like. I think I’ll take your advice and focus on my core. Thanks for the tips!

    • So glad to hear you’re already working out 8 months in. Take a long term perspective and take it slow and easy with your core. Also if you’re breast feeding the fat will fight you!! It doesn’t like to budge whilst breast feeding in my experience. Keep going!! X

    • Hi Kendra, sorry I thought I had replied yesterday, but most not have hit the send button! I always found it hard to lose the fat whilst breast feeding. It just doesn’t like to budge when you’re feeding baby. But focusing on your core will definitely give you a head start and knit back together your most vulnerable and important core area. Thanks for sharing! x

  3. My baby is five and a half (years). With CFS I find it hard to exercise well, but I love your start small and take care approach here. Feels totally doable 🙂

    • So glad you felt encouraged and not put down! It’s always a challenge to focus on fitness but will always be worth it! Start with where you’re at and you’ll feel better and better with each session. Don’t push your body past what it can do right now. You’ll just get injured and discouraged. Focus on getting strong and healthy and most importantly making it a habit! All the best Lizzy xx

  4. Hello! I’ve come back and found this article Jenny because I was once really fit and healthy but after going though some struggles I have allowed myself to let go of it all. I’m now on the road to getting fit and healthy again and getting back to the real me!
    This article is very helpful…you always look fab so I thought i would listen to you! 😄
    One question…what core excersises did/do you do? I’ve been looking some up but not sure where to start?!! ❤️

    • So glad you had a great holiday. It looked lovely. We all pick up so many bad habits after having children. We’re so hungry from the very beginning that we forget why we’re eating so much long after they’ve been weaned. For fixing separated tummy muscles I highly recommend the Mutu System http://mutusystem.com But for generally losing weight I have done several things but running, HiiT exercises and yoga are my favourites. I would look on you tube as there are loads of free videos out there. I’ll be doing another post on this with lots more links and referrals to tried and tested workouts. Thanks for joining in the journey with me! Life is always better together 🙂

  5. One thing that helped me was making a commitment. I signed up for a half marathon and had to train. It made me put exercising as a priority when it would have normalizing fallen off the wagon!
    Thanks for linking up again with WYWW… I always love reading your blog:)

    • That’s quite the commitment! I love running but couldn’t afford the winter gear so have to do indoor excercise now. Thanks for your encouragement! I would really love for you to so a guest post on my blog if you’re interested. Something motherhood relates would be great. Let me know if you have time. X

  6. These are excellent tips, especially the parts about focusing on your core. I’m beginning a new link-up on Wednesdays called The Healthy Mama Link-up… If you are interested please feel free to link up any posts like this one about fitness or healthy recipes.

Leave a Reply

