DIY Dry Shampoo

This little DIY should come in handy on a Monday morning.  Waking up a bit too late to give your hair a wash?  Well then head to your kitchen for a quick (and cheap) fix to dirty hair.  I never really understood how dry shampoo could possibly work.  How can you clean your hair without getting it wet?  Makes no sense.  But the purpose of dry shampoo is to basically ‘freshen up’ your hair, not take the place of washing.

I recently ran out of my homemade baby powder but needed some dry shampoo so I quickly made some up and decided to add a little colour to make it even more invisible and quicker if I didn’t have time to keep brushing and brushing.  I added some cocoa powder and voila – perfectly blended all natural dry shampoo that smells lovely too!

Here’s my recipe:

DIY Dry Shampoo Ingredients

2/3 Cup Cornflour

1/4 Cocoa Powder

You can vary the amount of cocoa powder to match your own hair colour.  FIY if your hair is blonde or grey you do not need to add any cocoa powder.  The white cornflour will be perfect.  I keep mine in a little plastic tub for safe keeping.

DIY Dry Shampoo IMG_9357

Here’s a picture of my hair before, and I can’t even remember the last time I washed my hair – it’s been a while.

I must admit, my hair is pretty good to me.  It’s definitely on the dry side and is very thick so I can hide greasy roots pretty well.  Maybe I should just stick my ends onto my roots to cover it all up.

DIY Dry Shampoo

Not the best look.  So to apply this DIY dry shampoo just put a little into the lid and use a make up brush and brush it into your roots.  I do all around the edge of my face and down my centre parting and a little on the sides.

Then give your scalp a nice little massage to rub it all into the roots.

Using dry shampoo creates lift and volume to your hair.  It’s a great quick fix and perfect if you’re short on time.

Have you tried dry shampoo before?  Let me know how it works for you!

3 thoughts on “DIY Dry Shampoo

  1. This is great Jenny, I shall try this! Did I see a blog you once wrote about washing your hair with bicarbonate soda?! I’m trying to find it but can’t…I need a hair transformation!! 😉❤️❤️

    • Glad you found it! The dry shampoo is so great for keeping your hair looking great between shampoos. I use it all the time. I’ve just made a hair oil that is so scrummy it turns your hair so silly and promotes hair growth and a balanced scalp. X

Leave a Reply

