Are You Embarrassing?

Are You Embarrassing?

In the early years of our marriage my husband would have to sit me down and talk to me about all the over-sharing I was doing.  We would be with friends and I would get carried away with the fun and start talking and talking and talking.  But then later my husband would tell me that I was embarrassing him by sharing too much of our marriage, faults, or lacks. 

We’ve been married 8 years now and it’s not very often that my husband has to tell me that I’ve embarrassed him, but the Holy Spirit does.  I’ve come home from a night out and had to apologise to my husband for not being an honouring and respectful wife.  You see we’re married.  That means everything I say and do is a representation of my husband.  That’s just how it is.  I am no longer an independent ‘free agent’.  I am bonded forever with my husband and we are one.  We share in the triumph’s and the failures.  This is the same for every Christian.  We are all ambassadors of Christ.  Are we doing a good job in representing our Saviour?  

Have you ever felt this conviction?  Do you sometimes get carried away and end up with a guilty conscious for making people laugh by pointing out other’s faults or being a show off?  The longer I’ve been married the more God has taught me how to honour my husband.  When I’m not living by the Spirit I end up acting foolish and embarrass my husband.  But whenever I am submitted to God I am much more in tune to his Spirit guiding my words and actions.  This minor adjustment in my life has brought huge breakthrough in our marriage.  I still make mistakes, but I am much quicker at recognising my mistakes and saying sorry before my husband even has to bring it up.  

If we are living now by the Holy Spirit’s power, let us follow the Holy Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives.  Galatians 5:25

 

4 thoughts on “Are You Embarrassing?

  1. I TOTALLY hear you. I’m an over sharer… and once I get going I have a tendency to talk and talk, without thinking about how it might affect my husband! It’s a great analogy connecting it to Christianity! Thanks for linking up with us!

Leave a Reply

