Dealing With Disappointment

Dealing with Disappointment

I can very easily become frustrated with where I’m at in life.  Maybe you’re like me and you get bored very easily. You’re a doer and you get itchy feet all the time and if you’re not conquering the planet you can feel like a complete failure. For years I’ve been at home raising our children and devoting myself to family and church.  But there is so much more that I have on my heart to do and I can look at what’s in my hand and despise my small beginnings.

 

Why am I not succeeding in this?  Why haven’t I grown more in this area and why am I not producing more of an outcome?  These questions have brought me to my knees this week.  I have wrestled with God in prayer and cried out for an answer.  
He showed me this scripture, which many of you may know. 
Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.  But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.  He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.  Whatever he does prospers.  Psalm 1

 

Am I finding my Joy in Jesus and studying his Word?  Or am I looking for my joy from people.  We must always continue to learn from the Word of God.  We can’t rely on what we were taught in Sunday School or what the pastor shares on a Sunday.  We must always be meeting with God and learning from his Word day in and day out – no exceptions.

 

Another thing God showed me that blew my mind was that this may not be your season for yielding fruit.  And we just have to accept that.  It doesn’t mean we’re a failure or that we’re not really called.  It’s just not our season for producing fruit.  

But the promise is that if we remain in Christ and we don’t wither away we will come into that season of producing fruit.  We just have to remain patient in the season of waiting.   There are seasons in our lives where waiting is the will of God.  Just think of Joseph, Abraham, Moses and David. Think of all the waiting they had to do before God released the promise into their lives.  Were they just wasting time sitting around doing nothing?  No, they were remaining in Christ but waiting on His timing and we see from Abraham what happens when we try to make things happen our way rather than God’s way.  We get an Ishmael.  
We can so easily get caught up in the doing that we forget about the ultimate goal – Jesus Christ.  He is always our prize.  It’s not success, growth or blessing, it’s always Jesus.  We serve in our families, in our marriages and in our church for the glory of Jesus, not for our own personal gain.
God challenged me that I wasn’t finding my joy in the Lord but looking for it in other people.  That will always lead to disappointment.

 

Remember many are called but few are chosen*.  Don’t let discontent stop you from running your race for God.  Keep pressing on to win the prize** and always live worthy of the calling.  Don’t get stuck in disappointment, press on and you will eventually walk into your season of fruitfulness.

 

7 thoughts on “Dealing With Disappointment

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love how we can find God in every season, no matter where we are. In waiting, in trials, in more successful or fruitful seasons – there is always something we can learn about God and about His character.

Leave a Reply

