Am I In Faith?

Am I In Faith2

Growing up as a missionary’s daughter our family has always lived by faith.  That has been our family motto forever!  We have stood in faith for everything in our lives from milk money to health issues.  But how can I tell I actually have faith?  How do I know that I truly am trusting in God?  Should I feel different, look different, should my prayers sound better or longer?  What actually changes in my life when I am in faith?

These are questions I hear a lot.  And it’s something that we all struggle with at some point in our journey of salvation.  It says in Hebrews(1) that faith is being sure we will get what we hope for and of what we cannot see.  Faith is being sure and confident.  Like many things in our lives we rely heavily on our emotions.  It’s all about how we ‘feel’.  But the spirit is so much more than feelings.  Faith changes the way we feel in spite of the circumstances. Faith brings change in our lives.

I remember seeing a movie poster on a bus and the tagline was ‘Danger is real, but fear is a choice.’  That really struck me.  That’s really how faith works.  Faith is the absence of fear.  It is not wishful thinking or fantasy.  Faith drives out fear and comes from having a hope.  We might be sick, in debt, in desperate need of something, but we chose not to feel afraid, scared or hopeless.  When we stand on our faith we remove fear from our lives and are able to live a Christ-filled life despite what’s happening (or not happening).  Standing in faith lights the way to change.  It causes us to make God decisions over emotional decisions, it changes our attitude and behaviour.

Let faith determine your emotions and not the other way around.  For me I know I’m in faith when I’m not afraid.  Faith always brings peace and hope.

God initiates and perfects our faith(2).  It’s an ongoing work of growing our faith in Christ.  And some are blessed with the gift of faith(3) and may find it easier and more natural to stand and believe in faith for things more than others. But faith is something that we are all called to live in as Christians.  Absolutely nothing is impossible when we have faith – it can move mountains(4).

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible” Matthew 19:26.

1 Hebrews 11

2 Hebrews 12:2

3 I Corinthians 12:9

4 Matthew 21:21

How do you know you’re in faith?

Don’t forget to subscribe to never miss a post.

3 thoughts on “Am I In Faith?

  1. Pingback: OF INTEREST: Independent Thoughts from Around the Internet May 7, 2014 | End Times Prophecy Report

  2. These were just the words I needed to hear this morning. Fear can become so strong and even though you have faith it is easy to let the fear become the choice. Blessed to be your Whimsical Wednesday neighbor today. Blessings, Mary!

Leave a Reply

