I’m a Christian Get Me Out of Here!

get me out of here

I remember being 18 sitting in church listening to a world class speaker talking about Seasons.  Life is full of Seasons, they come and go they’re all different and you’re constantly moving from one to the next.  Well at 18 I honestly had no idea what she was talking about.  Because lets face it, at 18 you’ve basically gone from the season of childhood to the season of older childhood.  So there I was completely lost in this message of Seasons not getting why I had to go through a desert season.  Really?  We all have to live in a desert for a while? When speaking about a desert season we’re referring to Moses and the Isrealites spending 40 years in the desert before they were brought into their promised land.  Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to live in a desert for 40 years of my life  before I can live in my dream home.

When I was pregnant with my fourth baby I was in a very tough season, and the I moved into the desert.  But here’s the punch line – I didn’t stay there for 40 years.  I moved out and into a better season.  I was restored, refreshed and released into a new thing.  I didn’t get stuck in my depression, desperation, hopelessness and irrational thinking.  As pitiful as I felt in that season I chose to cling to God.  I would lie in bed at night crying my eyes out as I spoke out scripture to speak truth, hope, faith and love back into my life.  I didn’t want to stay where I was.  I wanted to move past it and I cried out to God every night to show me how.

If Jesus overcame everything on the Cross why do we still go through seasons of suffering, pain and anguish?  Because we live on the earth, not in heaven.  In heaven there will be no more suffering, no more pain and no more anguish*.  That is a promise and a fact.  But while we’re here on earth no one is exempt from experiencing tough and difficult seasons of life.  And because Jesus did overcome everything on the cross we have the ability to break through those seasons and not get stuck – no matter what the circumstances!

If you’re in a difficult season of life let me leave you with this.  Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Do not depend on your own understanding, seek his will in all you do and he will show you the right path**.  If you’re looking for a way out you need to trust in Jesus and follow him.  God has a path for you to walk and it will lead you out of where you are and into a new place.  A new season awaits you.  Lean into God, trust in Him and he will show you the way forward into your promised land.

* Revelation 21:4

** Proverbs 3:5-6

8 thoughts on “I’m a Christian Get Me Out of Here!

  1. I can relate. At 18 everything seems so LONG. As I’ve grown older and gotten some perspective I can trust that what ever I’m facing, God will see me to the other side however long it takes.

  2. I loved your reminder that we still have suffering because we live here on Earth and in my next breath I am visualizing how beautiful it will be in Heaven. Ahh! Simple reminders like this are words to encourage us on our journeys. Thank you! Visiting you from Whimsical Wednesday. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

