An Honourable Women

Dan & Nori Chesney

Today is mother’s day, but I’ve had this topic brewing in my head a while.  Did you know that honouring your father and mother is the first commandment in the Bible with a promise??  That it may go well with you.  Wow, really?!?  Life will go well if I honour my parents?  How great is that.  Well, I can tell you from personal experience, life really is great.

I mean look at that women up there.  Isn’t she mind-blowingly beautiful!?!  Oh yeah, you guessed it – she’s my mum.  And I can add best friend, mentor, inspiration and biggest role model ever to that list.  She has raised me to honour and respect her and my dad, to love the Lord with all my heart, soul and mind and to live with complete abandon to God’s will.  And all I can say is, she did good.  And she continues to teach me about honour every day when I see her with my dad loving him, helping him and faithfully serving alongside him.  And when she flies out to LA at the drop of a hat to go and give all of herself to care for her mom in need.   She has been able to teach honour because she is honourable.

My husband and I want to raise our kids to honour us and God so that they can have the assurance that life will go well with them.  But here’s the clincher, I actually live with my parents.  My kids see me with my parents almost every day.  So in order for me to make sure that my kids will honourable I have to be sure to set the example of honouring my parents.

As we become adults it can be very easy to set ourselves apart from our parents.  How many times have you heard or even said yourself that you’ll never do what  your mother did?  Honouring our parents doesn’t mean that we always agree with them, want to be just like them or do what they do.  It is to respect and esteem, to show courteous behaviour towards them.  I looked it up – it really says that on dictionary.com.  I have a deep desire to raise my children to serve our living and loving God.  And to do that I must first honour God, my husband and my parents.  I need to show my children what it means to honour someone so they’ll be at the advantage of living a long and satisfying life.  Every parent wants that for their child.  Well lets start with ourselves.

“Honor your father and mother.” This is the first commandment with a promise: If you honor your father and mother, “things will go well for you, and you will have a long life on the earth.” Ephesians 6:2-3

One thought on “An Honourable Women

Leave a Reply

