Time To Purge

Josiah's room messy

As we come to the end of the month I’m heading towards a move – within my own house.  Sounds crazy, but it seems like its just as much work.  I have to sort, pack and purge absolutely everything from socks to beds.  I have had to do this many times in my life, but every year without exception I seem to have more stuff to sort out.  How does this happen?  I’m not a shopper, I don’t just buy things from the shops for leisure.  So where does this stuff come from??

Inevitably with more people definitely comes more stuff.  So when I have to sort out and remove things from our house it always reminds me of the purging I need to do in my own heart.  As I sort through my living room I find items brought in around the time I fell in love, got married, had my first child, had my last child and I realise that I’ve held onto them no matter how useless or tacky they are simply because I obtained them at very special and happy time in my life.  You know, like when you see someone holding onto that haircut that made them look 10 years younger and 10 lbs lighter – back in the 80’s.  Then I find hair ties, dozens of half used rubbers, broken pieces of leggo and the tops to at least 10 pens all collected with the hopes of being used again.  Suddenly I realise how easy it is to just grab onto things and never let them go again.

Just as our houses collect things so do our hearts.  A disappointment, failure, insecurity, shame, un-forgiveness, regret.  We can hold on to these things all too easily and with time forget they’re even there.  We have to be intentional about the things of the heart.  It’s easy to forget what’s in there and how much of an impact unnecessary clutter can have on our daily lives.  It gets in the way, slows us down, and sometimes stops us from moving on.  Years can go by with an unnoticed and unwanted issue and then suddenly it needs to be dealt with.  I don’t want to be scared of letting go of the junk to make way for the new.  Let’s get good at letting stuff go so we can let God in.

“…let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.  We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.”  Hebrews 12:1-2

Happy purging!

4 thoughts on “Time To Purge

Leave a Reply

