Lion King Lesson III – Remember Who You Are

This is Lion King Lesson III.  Read post I here and post II here.

Do you remember that crazy baboon in The Lion King, Rafiki – ‘Asanti sana, squashed banana’.  That baboon seemed totally nuts, but he loved the King and was its helper – just like the Holy Spirit.  He felt despair when he saw the Pride Land fall to ruin under Scar.

When he found Simba in the wilderness he led him back to his father.  That is what the Holy Spirit does.  He’s our helper, our guide and our comforter.  He always draws us to the Father God.  When Simba realised that Rafiki knew his father and told him that his father was still alive Simba chased after him.

At first Simba thought he found nothing but his own reflection.  But he looked closer and found his father within him.  This is what his father said to him:

‘You have forgotten me… You have forgotten who you are and so have forgotten me… Look inside yourself.  You are more than what you have become… You must take your place in the [Kingdom of God].”

Simba replies “How can I go back? I’m not who I used to be?”

“Remember who you are. You are my son and the one true king. Remember who you are.

I had been lost in the wilderness so long I had forgotten who I really was.  I forgot that I had a heavenly Father who loved me and always forgave.  I believed the lie that my sin was too big and bad to forgive.  But then the Holy Spirit helped me find my Father God again and remember who I really am.  He made me see that just because I had made mistakes in my life his love for me never changed. I felt like I would never be able to go back and do the things I was born to do because I just wasn’t the same person any more.  But that didn’t matter because I was his daughter, an heir to the throne and nothing could change that in my life – no matter how far away I had gone from him.  I was still his daughter and he still loved me.  I just needed to remember.

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love… indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

But how could I go back and do the things I knew God wanted me to do???  Find out in my next post…

Leave a Reply

