When Motherhood Overwhelms You

jenny when motherhood

I had four hours of sleep that had been interrupted three times by two children.  I had a wisdom tooth that was painfully coming in the same time as my one year olds moler.  It was half term and I knew I had a full week’s work ahead of me.  I always get excited about holiday time with all the kids at home.  I look forward to spending time playing, making and snuggling.  But then all of a sudden I get overwhelmed.  The non-stop questions, the endless holding of a one year old, the disagreements, boredom, and endless mess.

I needed some encouragement.  I was home alone and just needed a hug (you know those good hugs I’m talking about). And as I was making lunch for my four beautiful, restless, noisy children  I decided to turn on some worship music to change the atmosphere.  I put on Glorious Ruins by Hillsong and before the first verse was over I was crying my eyes out.

When the mountains fall
And the tempest roars You are with me
When creation folds
Still my soul will soar on Your mercy

Words that couldn’t have described my feelings any better.  I felt totally incapable of being a mother in that moment.  I quickly put the food on the table and returned to the kitchen.  As I entered I lifted my hands and head upwards and sang out with all my heart the rest of the song:

I’ll walk through the fire
With my head lifted high
And my spirit revived in Your story
And I’ll look to the cross
As my failure is lost
In the light of Your glorious grace
Let the ruins come to life
In the beauty of Your Name
Rising up from the ashes
God forever You reign
And my soul will find refuge
In the shadow of Your wings
I will love You forever
And forever I’ll sing
When the world caves in
Still my hope will cling to Your promise
Where my courage ends
Let my heart find strength in Your presence

I surrendered all my insecurities and shortcomings to God in that moment.  My soul needed refuge and we can only find that in the shadow of our Saviours wings (Psalm 91).  In those 5 minutes I went from discouraged and overwhelmed to my spirit being revived in Christ’s story, seeing my failures lost in God’s grace and and my heart finding strength in His presence.  Only Christ Jesus can do that to us.  Only being in His presence can we be renewed and transformed.  That truly is the power of God’s grace.

Be encouraged, if you’re feeling lonely, inadequate or overwhelmed today look up and remember who our God is.  He can carry you through any storm, shelter you along the way, and renew your strength in his presence.  Never stop singing of his love, and always make time to spend in his presence – that’s where we find his grace to carry on.

Listen to Glorious Ruins below:

4 thoughts on “When Motherhood Overwhelms You

  1. Thank you for checking out my post ‘Wearied Woman’ on domesticallyblended.com. Your post here was so encouraging and I will be praying for your spirit to be charged and encouraged!

  2. A friend directed me to your blog, after I mentioned a rough day with the kids on Facebook! This is so encouraging – I remember other occasions when God has spoken to me in a similar way in my family or life storms. It can be easy to forget that God cares about moments like this too! I shall try and rest in him today. God bless and thank you!

    • Hi Nicola, I’m so glad you were encouraged and thank you for encouraging me! We all have those rough days where we need to be reminded where to get our peace. Thanks for sharing, God bless.

Leave a Reply

