Why I teach my kids the Bible

Josiah and Olivia

For me the most important thing that I could ever teach my kids is how to have a relationship with Jesus Christ.  How to make him the King of their hearts.  And the only way to sustain that relationship past childhood is by teaching them the Bible.  Because I can tell you right now, taking them to church is not enough! Having the Word of God in their hearts must come first because “out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks” Luke 6:45.  I want to make sure I know what’s in my kids’ hearts.  I teach my kids scripture so that they understand how amazing our God is, why we believe in Jesus, and why it’s important to live His way.  

A lot of us forget that God was the first parent – ever!  We can only show love because he first showed us how to love (John 15:12). Thinking of the Bible as a parenting handbook may seem strange, but that’s exactly what it is!  It’s our Father God’s life handbook.  If you want your kids to have the best life possible, teach them God’s Word.  God’s plan or career path for their lives is infinitely better than any we could ever chose.

Olivia and Eliana

Teaching our kids the Bible is absolutely crucial to them succeeding in life and living to their maximum potential.  We were created by God and for God, Psalm 139:13-14. Therefore, only God knows our full potential, all that we’re capable of, our gifts and talents, hearts and minds, and he has already got the best possible plan for each of our lives – Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:10.  And if God has a plan, then we don’t need to be lying awake at night wondering where our kids are going to end up.  All we have to do is be diligent at teaching them God’s Word so that they too will know that He has the best plan for their lives, so as long as they are living God’s way for his purposes, then everything else will be taken care of and they will flourish in life. “But seek first his Kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33.

Why I teach my kids the bible

The first time any of my kids hit a crisis in their lives, no matter how big or small, I want them to always go back to what they know, the Bible.  That’s the handbook I want them to use in life,  not Psychology 101, Google, Facebook or Twitter.  I want the Word of God to be the cornerstone of their life.  That’s what’s held me together throughout the storms of my life and I am so thankful I grew up knowing that Jesus died on the Cross to save me from the destruction of my own selfish, foolish and wrong actions, the one who shows me new mercies every morning and who’s grace is sufficient in everything.  The most important thing is to make sure we know it so that we can use it!

So go ahead and dive right in.  It’s never too early or too late to start sharing the Word of God with your kids.  What they gain from it is eternal.

Tallulah pre haircut

Here are a few scriptures to encourage you and explain why our kids need to learn the Bible.  Soak it up!  It’s life changing.

Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates, so that your days and the days of your children may be many in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors, as many as the days that the heavens are above the earth.” Deuteronomy 9:18-21

“For the word of God is living and active…” Hebrews 4:12

“…faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.” Roman 10:17

Amen!

Happy Weekend

This is the first of a few posts about teaching the Bible to our kids.  Look out for my next post: 10 steps to teaching your kids the Bible!

4 thoughts on “Why I teach my kids the Bible

  1. Pingback: Teaching is light | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: 10 Steps to Teach Your Kids the Bible | Sitting in the Pew

  3. Pingback: The matter of the heart | daily meditation

  4. Pingback: How to Apply the Bible in Parenting | Sitting in the Pew

Leave a Reply

