Don’t Get Distracted

Tallulah Coco How could you possibly get distracted from anything when you only have one tiny little person to take care of?  Well folks, the picture says it all.  By the time you’ve shut the door to make sure they are safe in the room you discover that they have found the only piece of chocolate in your house and devoured it in one mouthful.  Oh yes, being ‘distracted’ doesn’t even begin to explain how we feel as mothers sometimes.  Hectic, manic, intense, insane, out-of-control, out-of-my-depth, throat clenching, nerve wrecking, STRESSED OUT – to name a few.  But amongst all those immensely overwhelming feelings that go on we have to remain on-top-of-it all.  Honestly, if your baby has reached the age of one without losing a limb (or its use of hearing from all of your neurotic screaming) you’ve done really well. How do we possibly get anything done??? There’s no time for reading, relaxing, sitting, eating or taking a shower.  The timeline of your day has been suspended between agonising eternity and death inducing speed.  So where or where do we find the time to spend with God??  How could we possibly fit Him in between the “feed, burp, change, nap and repeat” schedule.  To be honest it takes trial and error and a whole lot of creativity. Having a daily devotional time may seem like a ludicrous thing to add to your to-do list as a mother, but let me tell you;  it is the most important thing on your to-do list!  Because we absolutely, positively need God’s help to raise our children.  Love, joy, peace, kindness, patience…do those sound like things you want your child to learn and know?  Well it’s in Bible (Galatians 5:22-24 to be exact) where it talks about the fruits of the Spirit.  We need the Word of God to guide us in our journey of parenting and the Spirit to pretty much help us with the rest, like helping us snap out of it when we’re in a weeping heap on the floor defeated by a 9-month-old. images   Oh yes, my faith and devotion is completely pivotal to my success as a mother and I need to make sure I find some way to connect with Christ each day. I may not have time to sit down and read the Bible, but I can listen to it while I’m feeding the baby.  I might not be able to blast worship music and sing at the top of my lungs while my baby is sleeping, but I can sing worship songs to my baby to put them to sleep. overflow_2 Don’t get distracted in motherhood.  Always find a way to connect with God and don’t give up if you feel it’s just not working out.  Persevere, be flexible, get creative and allow the Holy Spirit to show you a new way to enter into His presence.  I got through the early years of motherhood on podcasts, worship music and prayer.  I prayed for everything and anything (I would even be praying in my dreams over issues I was worried about) and would speak out every scripture I knew as I was putting my babies to sleep, or doing the dishes, or folding the 100 pairs of socks that seemed to multiply every time I washed them. Don’t give up, never surrender your relationship with God for your child or you will lose them both.  Hold on to God and He will enable you be the best mum you can be.  It’s says in Psalm 1 that if you stick with God and think about His Word you’ll be a success at everything you do!  And that’s what I want for all of you.  To be successful in raising your children for Christ, and keeping your sanity in the process. 1 Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither – whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1 NIV How do you connect with God in your day?  Let me know, leave me a comment!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Get Distracted

  1. I listen to the spoken Word and podcasts from my iPod Dock when I’m cleaning the house and pray when I’m walking the kids to and from school. You’re so right- connecting with God is essential to survive motherhood. Thank you so much for your wise words.

Leave a Reply

