How do I look Honey?

Jenny and Kids

Most days I look pretty much exhausted, chubby in the waist, with vomit on my shoulders and back.  Having four children in under 5 years left little time and money to my appearance and wardrobe.  My maternity clothes were years old and very well-worn and my post-pregnancy wardrobe was made entirely of hand-me-downs from my mother and a few other people.  Needless to say, my husband hated my clothes and my general shoddy appearance.  So after baby number four I just happened to have some vouchers that I decided to use on some brand-new clothes.  The clothes were dirt cheap but the smile on my husbands face every time I wore them – priceless.

Now some may think it is irrelevant, flippant or even sinister of a man to judge a person by their appearance, but I would like to challenge you to read Proverbs 31 ‘The Wife of Noble Character’.  In verse 22 it says that she is clothed in fine linen and purple.  You may be thinking, “Well purple is just not my colour,” but what it’s getting at is that she dressed in her best to make her husband proud.  I once read a book on marriage where the author even went as far to say that how you dress is a reflection on how much your husband loves you, OUCH!  That’s a wake up call.  Do I look like I’m loved, appreciated, cared for and respected by my husband?

My husband ALWAYS wants me to look my best, but especially if I’m leaving the house.  My first year of motherhood my mother took precious time to teach me how to be a wife, mother and homemaker.  Of all the things she taught me the one lesson I have never, ever forgotten is that when my husband comes through the door at the end of the day from a long, hard (I see you rolling your eyes, but stay with me) day at work I should be wearing clean, attractive clothing (she once made me change out of my favourite Gap jumper that was perfectly clean), a squirt of perfume and fresh lipstick!  Now lipstick might not be your thing but it works wonders on my face.

I am so, so grateful she took the time to teach me that simple yet oh so important lesson because when I make that extra effort for my husband each day he gets excited to walk through the front door each day to see me and he knows I still love him. And lets remember, my husband came into my life before my kids.  I need to keep my marriage in high priority.  Children come and go, but my husband stays forever.

How do you look when your husband comes home from work?  Do you think making an effort in  your appearance would improve your marriage? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “How do I look Honey?

    • Hi there, thanks for your comment.
      I think that’s a great passage of scripture reminding us to not become vain about our appearance and to stay humble. I was highlighting the issue of neglect in marriage during motherhood in this post. We need to continue to be a wife to our husbands once we become mothers and this is what I was focusing on.

      Thanks so much for you comment.

  1. I am so glad I stopped by from Beth’s place today. I was intrigued by your title and had to read what your post would be about. My mom truly exemplified the Proverbs 31 wife and their marriage lasted 57 years! So beautiful! Thank you for sharing today! Blessings, Mary!

  2. Hi! I’m stopping in from Essential Thing Devotions. I so enjoyed your post and I have to say, I agree with you wholeheartedly. While there are some days that the makeup and fresh clothes just aren’t gonna happen by the time hubby gets home, most days I do my best to “clean-up” a bit before he gets walks through the door. And, always, when we leave the house together I make sure I’m “presentable.” It’s much, much easier now that my kids are all older, but some days are still tough. Praying for you as you navigate these early years of motherhood. They’re amazing, but exhausting.
    Blessings,
    ~Candy

  3. I struggle with this. Personally, I think the house and kids being presentable is more important than whether or not I’ve put my lippy on. The fact is, the house CAN look nice. Me? Well, I’ll be overweight and plain as a pike-staff whether I’m dressed up or not.

    • Hi Ashleigh,

      I know that anyone can look lovely when there’s a little effort put in because we’re all created in God’s image. Your husband fell in love with you so much he wanted to marry you. You can have that happen all over again and again every time you make the effort to show your husband you love him enough to keep making the effort. With a house and kids and husband to take care of we usually do neglect ourselves to put them first, but there’s a balance. A new haircut, top or lipstick can make a huge difference in your marriage because you made the effort! I hope this encourages you! Our marriage is so important and deserves our attention. Be blessed and hope to hear from you again soon! Jenny xx

  4. I really enjoyed this post, it was such a great reminder. I am not always good at this, but I have been working on it. It really does a make a difference. Thanks so much for linking up to WYWW!

    • Hi Nikki, thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I sooooo appreciate it. I’ve been getting quite behind in the blogosphere, but am trying to keep up! Looking forward to linking up with you again. x

Leave a Reply

